Letter of Support for Union Contract Demands from Rutgers Philosophy Faculty Members

Faculty, Teaching Assistants, Graduate Assistants, Postdoctoral Scholars, and all other workers represented by Rutgers AAUP-AFT have been working without a contract for nearly nine months.

The quality of education, research, and public service at Rutgers depends on the quality of our working conditions, but these conditions have been impaired by salaries for PTLs and graduate students that have declined significantly when accounting for inflation and rising costs of living. Adjunct faculty receive unfair wages for the classes they teach, and their academic freedom is undermined by lack of job security. Graduate students receive far less than a living wage, which hampers their ability to research, teach, and learn, and threatens the quality and prestige of graduate programs at Rutgers, including the program in Philosophy. The loss of department-level authority over course scheduling continues to frustrate our ability to offer an effective curriculum, with no demonstrated benefit to students and demonstrable harm to faculty.

We, the undersigned faculty members of the Department of Philosophy, endorse the AAUP-AFT contract campaign demands, including those for fair salaries and stipends, job security for adjuncts, and departmental control over scheduling. We stand in solidarity with all Rutgers workers seeking a fairer and stronger institution, and affirm the right of workers to bargain collectively and to take collective action, including strike action, when necessary to attain just demands. We affirm the spirit of <u>the resolution passed by the English Department</u>, from which this statement is adapted.

Karen Bennett, Professor and Department Chair Susanna Schellenberg, Distinguished Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Elisabeth Camp, Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Alexander Guerrero, Professor and Director of Graduate Admissions Dean Zimmerman, Distinguished Professor Jonathan Schaffer, Distinguished Professor Barry Loewer, Distinguished Professor Jerry Piven, Lecturer Nicholas Maurer, Lecturer Andrew Egan, Professor Justin Kalef, Assistant Teaching Professor Justin Caouette, Lecturer Daniel M. Hausman, Research Professor David Sorensen. Lecturer Max Bialek, Lecturer **Richard Fry, Assistant Teaching Professor** Martin Lin, Professor Michael Otsuka. Professor Iuan Comesaña. Professor Carolina Sartorio. Professor **Jill North, Professor** Derrick Darby, Henry Rutgers Distinguished Professor Louise Antony, Regular Visiting Professor